Hi all - 

I'm developing some in-house ftrack convenience scripts, to help empower junior devs to work faster, and I would like to get a testing suite for them going with pytest. Has anyone done anything similar?

I'm fairly new to pytest, and while I believe I understand the fundamentals, I'm a bit unsure as to how to best set up an ftrack fixture as a data source. The thoughts that have occurred:

• Connect to a pared-down "mock" ftrack database that can live easily on disk, like a sqlite database <-- my ideal solution
  • Connect to a test ftrack server and, in the fixture code, manually set up all the ftrack data before I run the test, each time <-- seems like a ton of work, bound to miss edge cases
  • Connect to a test ftrack server and somehow prevent the session from doing any commits <-- seems dangerous, unsure of feasibility

Does anyone have any insight on this?

Hi Jason, welcome to the forum (from one former DWA-er to another). I hope to hear some solutions from folks in the trenches, but I can give an overview of what I know.